OPJMS Scripted Glory at Inter-School Debate Competition


 OPJMS Scripted Glory at Inter-School Debate Competition


7th of August, being a gala day in the history of OPJMS, is always celebrated with immense enthusiasm and fervency. An inter-school debate competition was organized on 8th August, 2017 to commemorate the birth anniversary of our founder father Sh. O P Jindal, a great educational luminary and visionary. 21 reputed schools from different states of the country contested against one another in this war of words. The overwhelming participation of these prestigious and leading schools made the event a grand success. Participants manifested their views on a very considerable and prolific topic “Independence is Just a State of Mind”


The distinguished members of jury were Prof. Ved Guliani, Dr. Sunita Bhargav and Dr. Aparna- the luminaries from English faculty of the renowned colleges of Hisar. The topic that struck the responsive chords in the minds of participants was ‘Independence is Just a State of Mind’.


The boisterous and cogent arguments of the participants found an arena of wits lending razor-sharp clarity to the motions. The elegantly phrased questions by the judges in the rebuttal round added another dimension to the proceeding. The spirited presentation of the participants, their remarkable ingenuity and persuasive powers were commended by all. OPJMS students performed brilliantly in the contest and secured the first position. However, OPJMS being the host team, the second winning team i.e. Alwar Public School, Alwar was able to lift the overall trophy.


Thus the competition was won by Alwar Public School, Alwar who were able to clinch the rolling trophy as well as Runners up Trophy and some individual prizes as well. Karmanya Raizada and Keshav Jindal of OPJMS won individual prizes for being adjudged as best speakers in their respective categories. Anshul Sharma of Holy Angel School, Hisar and Palak Jain of Alwar Public School were adjudged as the Second Best Speakers in their respective categories. Vidushi Verma of Motilal Nehru School of Sports, Rajat Kadiyan of Little Angel School Sonipat, Pragati Verma of VDJS Hisar and Simmi of Pinegrove School Solan received Consolation prizes in their respective categories.  Consolation Team Prizes were bagged by Holy Angel School, Hisar and Vidya Devi Jindal School, Hisar


The judges were presented mementos as a token of thanks for their valuable contribution. The school looks forward to more such competitions in future to allow its students to interact with students from schools across the country.